Testimonials & Reviews

George P. Glaser, LCSW

Psychotherapist located in Austin, TX

8 total reviews

George P. Glaser always appreciates feedback from his valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 8 reviews with an average rating of 5 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about George Glaser below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Denise G.
Submitted 09/05/20
My nutritionist referred me to George to help heal my negative digestive symptoms from Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS). George and I started working together in May 2020 during the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic, our sessions so far have all been online via video conferencing. Our first goal was to work through my IBS symptoms using the 7-session IBS hypnosis protocol, which we have completed. In only four months of working through this protocol, I already feel both big and subtle changes in my digestion, decrease in negative digestive symptoms, decrease in physical pain, and overall greater peace and clarity in my life and in my relationships. (Even my partner is grateful for this work with George as there are fewer disagreements between us and I don't find myself getting mad at the same things anymore!) I lived with an IBS diagnosis and digestive upset for over 15 years! I never thought healing from IBS was even possible. I really did believe I would live in digestive discomfort and live with a strict diet for the rest of my life. I remember the precise moment when George helped me see that it was possible to heal my digestive pain and that it does not have to define my story any longer. Foods and emotional experiences that would have had me in digestive turmoil before, now only feel like a slight moment in passing, or I altogether don't feel that intensity of pain anymore. I am in deep gratitude that this is my reality now, a reality I never even thought to be possible. I am so grateful for George with his kind approach to listen, connect, and be fully present throughout our sessions. Our entire time together so far has been virtual, yet not being in person together has not impeded our progress. I've felt so deeply supported by George in this protocol, that I want to continue working with him, for as long as our time will allow. I look forward to more sessions together and continuing to grow, heal, step into my power, and feel even more sense of comfort, well-being, clarity, and peace in my life. George has helped shine the light on these feelings. He's shown me that they are possible for my life as he walks the path with me to help me see and uncover them for myself. George's caring demeanor coupled with his experience, skillset, and hypnosis protocol really does work. I recommend George to anyone looking to heal and feel more peace in your life. Thank you, George, for the work you do. I am forever grateful to you.
Alia K.
Submitted 01/06/20
I saw George for IBS hypnotherapy for several months this past year and I couldn't be happier with the results. After so many years of constant gastrointestinal distress, extreme weight loss, and daily pain, my symptoms are finally under control. I feel like I've been given my life back, and it almost feels too good to be true. (I even waited about a month to write this review, just to make sure it wasn't.) George's calming, sincere, and grounding demeanor made it incredibly easy to sink into our sessions. I started seeing results pretty quickly, and they continued week by week. By the end of our series of sessions, I went home for the holidays, ate whatever I chose, and was able to take my digestion for granted, something I haven't been able to do since I was a child. I'm so grateful to have found George and would recommend him to anyone in a heartbeat.
Pat S.
Submitted 10/04/17
I came to see Mr. Glaser to help me get a handle on compulsive eating, since I am overweight and at risk for diabetes. We met for several months, and his calm, listening and supportive questioning helped bring out some important insights into the cause. His use of guided relaxation/light hypnosis assisted me in finding my way through realizing what I could do to redirect the compulsion and listen to the real cause, which was part of me trying to get my attention to deal with fears about a core relationship. He was patient, insightful, and helped me find the answers, suggesting ways to visualize and acknowledge the problems and solutions. Thank you!
Caitlin W.
Submitted 03/29/17
A few months ago, my general stress and a specific life-long phobia had mounted into debilitating anxiety. I came to Mr. Glaser, beside myself that my usual techniques of meditation and regular exercise were no longer effective on their own. As early as our first session, I started to feel better, and now, just a few months later, I’ve never felt more simultaneously at ease and comfortably in control. I recommend Dr. Glaser to anyone who’s looking for relief. His unique ability to foster an awareness of the mind-body connection has improved my quality of life immeasurably.
Jeannie L.
Submitted 03/16/17
My husband and I were referred to George for marital counseling about a year and a half ago. After 17 years of marriage my husband and I were both scared that it was too late to save our marriage. George’s calm yet poignant way quickly disarmed us and helped us find clear and better ways of communicating. In the past we had tried other therapists and had felt our efforts were somehow scripted. George has been brilliant in showing us how to be curious and loving rather than defensive and predictable. I am so thankful we found him.
Helen L.
Submitted 03/12/17
George is a unique therapist because he’s able to integrate traditional psychotherapy with hypnotherapy to help his clients break through old patterns, and his capabilities include both emotional and physical issues. I saw George for a series of sessions 10 years ago to deal with chronic pain, following a bicycle accident in which I broke my hip and had AVN. The impact of 5 hypnotherapy sessions was amazing. Although nothing physically changed in my body, my experience of the pain was dramatically reduced and I was again able to sleep soundly throughout the night. The experience taught me so much about the power of the mind-body connection. Later, after a hip replacement, my husband and I decided to spend our holidays hiking in mountains around the world. I’ve always been uneasy with heights although I love the mountains. On a trip to Machu Picchu I froze on a 4-foot wide trail with a 200 foot drop off and my husband had to talk me across the trail. I realized later that I needed to address my fear of heights if I wanted to continue safely hiking. In only 3 sessions I received a depth of understanding about what seemed like an irrational fear, and since they we have happily hiked in Patagonia, the Alpha, British Columbia, etc. where I’ve encountered many ledges that would have terrified me previously. I have since referred many people with a variety of issues to George, and all have reported remarkable successes.
Donna A.
Submitted 02/27/17
I was referred to George by two highly credible colleagues of mine (a psychologist and a vascular surgeon) who strongly recommended that I meet with George regarding a lifelong inner ear disorder that was negatively impacting my daily life. I flew to Austin and met with George for two sessions over the course of two days and the experience I had with him was incredible. He used (and taught me how to use) a form of hypnotherapy that allowed me to control the physical expressions of my disorder (i.e., blinding headaches, nausea, & vomiting.) The time I spent with George was invaluable beyond belief and I am grateful for the wisdom, approach and techniques he shared with me. The positive impact that (my time with) George has had on my life is indescribable. I cannot express enough how highly I think of George and how gifted he is at his work.
Jan B.
Submitted 02/23/17
I was referred to George by renowned hypnotherapist Dr. Dabney Ewin from New Orleans. Dr. Ewin assured me that that George Glaser was by far the best hypnotherapist in the Austin area. He was certainly right about that! I started seeing George four years ago for pain management, but our therapy quickly blossomed into a combination of psychotherapy and hypnosis. As we peeled the layers back on what was causing my physical pain, the psychotherapy element became more and more important to the treatment. The initial pain I sought treatment for is completely under control and I have George to thank for that. He's wonderful! I can honestly say that my quality of life has improved dramatically under his care.

Insurance

I participate in the following managed care plans. Feel free to inquire about any that are not shown. Additionally, plans such as PPOs provide for coverage of out-of-network practitioners. Check with the customer service number listed on your insurance card for information about out-of-network coverage, deductible/copayment amounts, and yearly session limits.

Aetna
Ambetter
Beacon Health Strategies
Blue Cross PPO
Coventry Health Care
Humana Choice Care
Managed Health Network (MHN)
Medicare
Superior HealthPlan
Tricare
WorkplaceOptions